Health & Safety Committee

Safety Office

The primary role of the University's Health and Safety Committee is to oversee all matters of health and safety at the University.  The duties of the Committee include, but are not limited to:

  • Bringing forward concerns from employees 
  • Helping to identify hazards and risks to the safety and health and welfare of employees
  • Developing and promoting programs for educating and informing employees
  • Making recommendations to the University concerning tje safety and health of employees
  • Regular workplace inspections
  • Participating in investigations relevant to accident/incidents, right to refuse unsafe work, and stop work
  • Maintaining records
  • Monitoring the effectiveness of the Safety and Health Program

Committee Terms of Reference

Committee Members

Name Representation and Position
Laurel Repski Univ. - V.P. HR, Audit & Sustainability Co-chair
Mike Thul Univ. - Director, Physical Plant
Gary Pawlychka Univ. - Assoc. Controller, Finan. Serv.
Len Cann Univ. - Executive Director, Infrastructure
Mary Anne Walls Univ. - Mgr., Campus Health & Wellness Alternate
Jonathan Doty  IUOE - Service Worker Alternate
Doug Foster IUOE - Plumber
Deanna Pollock Excl. Employees - Mgr., Ins. Capital Acct.
James Hanley UWFA - Faculty Member Co-Chair
Ian Elliott UWFA - Faculty Member - Collegiate
Jamie Galka UWFA - Faculty Member 
Malcolm Bird UWFA - Faculty Member 
Natasha Taiarol AESES - Technician
Jillian Golby-Borsa AESES - Administrative Manager
Peter Balagus AESES - Technician
Kimberley Buffie Chair - Science Lab Safety Subcommittee
Tiffani Sawatsky   UWSA
Laura Garinger UWSA

Resource persons for the Health and Safety Committee:

  • Kevin Smith, Health and Safety Specialist
  • Doug Brownridge, Occupational Safety Officer
  • Sangita Shah, Lab Safety Officer
  • Marty Grainger, Emergency Preparedness Coordinator/Director, Security Services
  • Jennifer Trotman, Director of Campus Living


Workplace Safety and Health Act and Regulations