To: Office of the Corporate Secretary and General Council

From: Ryan Eyford, chair of the Senate Curriculum Committee

Date: April 30, 2024

Re: Annual Report of the Senate Curriculum Committee (2023-2024)

As chair of the Senate Curriculum Committee (SCC), I submit the following report to Senate for the period May 1, 2023 to April 30, 2024.

In 2023-24, the membership of the committee consisted of:

May 1 to June 30, 2023 May 1, 2023 to present July 1, 2023 to present Darren Courchene Ryan Eyford* Harinder Aujla Esmat Elhami Melissa Funke Matthew Flisfeder Grace O'Farrell Sarah Heath Patricia Fitzpatrick** Laurie-Ann Hellsten Laura Forsythe Yongshan He Michael Lukie Gyanendra Pokharel Stephen Penner*** Aaron Moore Colin Russell (ex-officio) Ray Silvius

Tabitha Wood

Brianne Selman

* chair, July 1 to present

Anuraag Shrivastav

From May 2023 to April 2024, the SCC approved the following:

- Experimental Courses 21 credit hours
- Inactive Courses 3 credit hours

The committee recommended the following courses be approved by Senate.

- New Courses 111/123 credit hours
- Course Revisions 242/245 credit hours
- Course Deletions 132 credit hours

On behalf of the Senate Indigenous Course Requirement (ICR) Committee, the SCC recommended 10 courses (30/33 credit hours) to Senate as meeting the criteria for ICR designation:

^{**} chair, May 1 to June 30
*** joined December 1

- ANTH-2407 (3)/LING-2104 (3)/IS-2407 (3) Language Revitalization
- HIST-2610 (3) Indigenous Peoples and Canada to 1815
- HIST-2611 (3) Indigenous Peoples and Canada since 1815
- HIST-2616 (3) History of Indigenous Education: Residential Schools and Beyond
- HIST-3615 (3/6)/ANTH-3129 (3/6) Material Culture in North American Indigenous History
- HIST-3616 (3)/ANTH-3127 (3) History of the Indigenous Peoples of the Northern Plains
- HIST-3617 (3) Indigenous Peoples and Treaties
- HIST-3623 (3)/IS-3523(3) Indigenous Women's History
- HIST-3625 (3) History of the Métis
- UIC-3010 (3)/IS-3011 (3) Two-Spirit, Indigiqueer, & Indigenous LGBTQ Realities

The SCC received the following submissions by the 2024 curriculum deadline (extended to April 8):

- New courses 213/222 credit hours
- Course Revisions 270 credit hours
- Course Deletions 51 credit hours

The SCC thanks the DCCs, DCC chairs, and department assistants for the careful attention given to their submissions, and for working collaboratively with other departments and programs on curriculum matters. We also thank the subject Librarians for their work on the library consults that accompany new course proposals. Finally, the committee acknowledges the invaluable administrative support and experience of Jackie Benson, for which we are incredibly thankful.

As chair, I would like to thank all members of the SCC for their valuable service to the university over the past year. In particular, I want to express my gratitude to Colin Russell for his contributions to the SCC's deliberations in his *ex officio* capacity. A special thanks to Patricia Fitzpatrick, who will complete her term on the committee in June, for her many contributions to the SCC as chair in 2021-22 and 2022-23. Thanks also to Harinder Aujla who has volunteered to serve as SCC chair for 2024-25.

Respectfully submitted,

Ryan Eyford

chair, Senate Curriculum Committee