Preamble

The Terms of Reference for the Joint Senate Committee on Master's Programs can be found online at:

University of Manitoba - Joint Senate Committee on Master's Programs (umanitoba.ca)

Observations

1. Committee Membership (as of December 6, 2023):

| Dr. Royce Koop | Political Studies, UM, Chair | | |
|--------------------------------|--|----------------------------|--|
| Dr. Dawn Sutherland, designate | Graduate Studies, UM, ex officio | Dr. Manish Pandey | Graduate Studies, UW, ex officio |
| Dr. Sean Byrne | Peace & Conflict Studies, UM | Dr. Laura Forsythe | Education, UW |
| Dr. Richard Jochelson | Law, UM | Dr. Darlene Abreu-Ferreira | History, UW |
| Dr. Susan Prentice | Political Studies, UM | Dr. Carlos Colorado | Religion, UW |
| Alejandra Coronel Mengelle | Graduate Studies, UM Student Representative | Megan Lindell | Graduate Studies, UW Student Representative |

2. Meeting of April 20, 2023:

The JSC discussed the role of the JSC and its terms of reference. Changes to the terms of reference will be brought to the JSC at its next meeting.

3. Meeting of June 29, 2023:

The JSC discussed progress in the Master of Public Administration stemming from its second cycle graduate program review, and the role of the JSC with respect to Joint Master's Program reviews. The JSC discussed content changes to its terms of reference. The substantive change proposed to the terms of reference is that all Chairs of the Joint Discipline Committees of the Joint Master's Programs will have permanent membership on the JSC.

4. Meeting of December 5, 2023:

The JSC finalized and approved its revised terms of reference*. A review of the Joint Senate Committee Regulations Governing Joint Master's Programs document is warranted as the document was last reviewed around 2017. A subcommittee of the JSC consisting of Royce Koop, Manish Pandey, and Dawn Sutherland, supported by Andrea Kailer (UM FGS administrative support) will meet to discuss changes to the governing document and a revised document will be brought to the JSC for consideration at a future meeting.

*The respective Senates of the University of Manitoba and University of Winnipeg approved the revised JSC terms of reference at its meetings in February 2024. The revised terms of reference will be effective June 1, 2024.

5. Sub-Committee Meeting of January 19, 2024:

A sub-committee of the JSC consisting of Royce Koop, Manish Pandey, and Dawn Sutherland, supported by Andrea Kailer, met to discuss changes to the Joint Senate Committee Regulations Governing the Joint Master's Programs. Initial revisions will be made, and the document will return to the sub-committee for further review.

6. Future Meetings

There is presently no meeting scheduled. The Chairship and administrative support of the JSC return to the University of Winnipeg for 3 years commencing June 1, 2024.

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Royce Koop, Chair Joint Senate Committee